OCA Thames Valley Group Meeting on 18th February 2017

We spent some time discussing the suggested tutor brief and all present agreed that it was a helpful document.  I particularly took on board the point about students needing to be clear what questions they have in mind regarding proposed work or a beginning idea, plus what, specifically, they would like to take away from the session.

I’m a member of the Body of Work Project sub-group.  We’ve now produced a project brief for all involved and we had a very productive discussion around this.  I’m seeing this Project as very much a learning experience for me as I have no experience whatsoever in either submitting work to or setting up an Exhibition. To be honest, the idea of doing so causes me to feel quite anxious but it will be a step by step process of learning and I know that it is something I need to experience as another step towards taking myself and my work seriously. It’s good that I’ll have the support of the group and those of us who do have considerable experience.

Work presentations took up the rest of the day. I had taken the printed Blurb version of the photobook created for Assignment 2 and asked for feedback re the sizing of the book. Feedback was very useful and positive, along with suggestions that I try some full-bleed images; either have the header on every page or not at all; check I maintain the sizing of borders and to be deliberate about what I do, e.g. including a header or not.

 

I had actually missed the variation in headers and think it best to have none at all. I’ll take account of all the feedback when I prepare the final version of the book

Whatever its shortcomings might be I enjoyed sharing the book and, as ever, seeing and discussing ongoing work from other members.

6 comments

  1. Having missed a great deal of the groups prigress over the last 12 months I don’t fully understand the significance of the sub-group but guessing it has something to do with the idea that was floated about the time I left if organising an exhibition. I’d appreciate an update on this if at all possible as it was something I was particularly interested in and supportive of previously and would like to know what’s planned.

    Like

    1. There’s a post on TV Group Facebook Page about the Project Eddy, including the Project Brief and also a post about the separate private Facebook Group for those who would like to participate. We thought the latter would be a good idea to keep communication clear because Facebook pages can get so cluttered.

      Like

      1. Found the item about the project and I’ve asked a question about participation, but couldn’t see anything about the separate Facebook group, does one need an invite or can you provide a URL for me please?

        Like

Leave a Reply

