OCA Thames Valley Group : Meeting on 18th March 2017

Eleven of us met with Jayne Taylor, our presiding tutor.

We discussed progress on the Body of Work Project which began officially on 8th March and I’m pleased that we now have fourteen members who want to participate and a new, private, Facebook group, for relaying up-to-date information plus member discussions.  Potential venues need to be researched and Dawn is currently looking at one possibility for us. In any case, we want to exhibit in The Phoenix Centre as well – probably as a taster for a larger Exhibition and, at lunchtime, we members of the sub-group looked around the Centre at available space. Jayne is very interested in our plan and gave some helpful suggestions re potential sources of funding. She also suggested that if we decide, say, to go for September 2018 instead of August 2018, we might find other Exhibitions where we might be able to attach ourselves. Jayne also suggested Artquest as a very helpful site.

There’s promising news on the proposed OCA/UCA merger. A pity that we still won’t be able to borrow books but at least we’ll be able to access online journals etc. Monica mentioned that it is possible to borrow from Farnham UCA Library for a fee so I phoned their Library. I’m able to borrow up to six books, for two weeks, for a fee of £25 per year – much cheaper than buying books! I also checked the Degree Show dates which are from Thursday 8th June to Saturday 17th June.

Work presentation:

Nine members shared work and/or gave updates on progress:

Discussion:-

Sue is creating a calendar for Gesture &Meaning Assignment 4 – iconic film posters referenced with Lego figures in scenarios created within the home.

Dawn is continuing to work with her camera alongside studying Graphic Design.  She showed us some photographic still-life experiments based around food (floating lobsters, oranges and bananas) and how disconnected we are from it nowadays as well as giving us some interesting facts that we might not know about food consumption in the World. What was interesting for me was the difference that taking a Fine Art approach towards food photography can make to the feel and message.

Gerry is studying Drawing Level 1 and has been experimenting with blue and ochre ink wash to represent sea and sand as a base for shells and other objects. He also has some ideas for drawing food, with a move away from a traditional approach

John – having completed his Degree work (and awaiting results from Assessment) is working in collaboration with another Level 3 student, where they respond to each other’s images,  and is producing many variations on flowers including collage and origami.

Richard showed us prints from his Level 2 Landscape series on Antartica and how the impact of tourism on the environment is being controlled. He has also been experimenting with printing maps on tracing paper as an overlay for images.

Holly is preparing Assignment 3 for Identity & Place and has settled on contemplative photography. One of someone reading includes silver stitching which enhanced the effect of him being in a place all his own.

Michael updated us on progress for Level 3 and his work on hidden history. Our discussion also touched on how shining the light on hidden history might be mirrored by a psychological journey.

Teresa is also preparing Assignment 3 for Identity & Place and building a series on reading. She talked about her efforts to make them complementary despite differing environmental lighting.

Monica has now changed from Context & Narrative Level 1 to Graphic Design Level 1. She showed us an exercise on visual communication and a game she devised that involves guessing the names of ten contemporary films from line drawings and signs alone

I didn’t present any work because I’d been concentrating on reading and exercises for the moment after a recent short stay in hospital suffering from the effects of biliary colic. In fact, I’d been feeling so low that I was in two minds whether to attend the group. I’m pleased I did though because it was so inspiring to observe the richness of forms that creativity can take. I decided I must get to grips with still-life photography so have booked myself on a day workshop on product photography, on the assumption that the methods might be the same even though the effect is different. I have experimented with printing on tracing paper in the past but have bought some more as I have an idea for some work with pressed poppies which will further my previous work on Assignment 1.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 comments

  1. This looks interesting. Sorry to read that you have been unwell, hope you feel better soon. I’m looking forward to attending the next one very much.

    Like

  2. A good report on the day and some good information about borrowing from the UCA library at Farnham. Well worth it for me as I am so close and definitely useful when I start level three.

    Like

  3. Hi Catherine!
    The richness from all the work is a delight to see. It is so important to connect with other students face to face, I find it invaluable.
    I hope you’re feeling much better Catherine, and that the culprit has been removed for ever. Xxx

    Like

    1. Hi Yiann, I’m pleased you enjoyed reading my post. It’s being able to connect in this way that keeps me working away on the Course even when I’m feeling low at times. I am feeling better at the moment thank goodness – fingers crossed!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Aw, it’s so nice to hear you have such a lovely community, I love to see what everyone else is doing, the ideas sound so much fun! For your friend Sue she might love the documentary I watched on Sky Catch up, it’s called 24×36 and was so interesting. I watched it not knowing much about it and really loved it! Trying to find a way to fit it into my Landscape practice haha! Do your friends all have learning logs, I’d love to see their work. I wish we had a group like that up North 😀

    So sorry to hear about your hospital stay, sending healing hugs to you!

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog and glad I finally had the time to really read through it, you write so well and are such an inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

